Robert Glasper Experiment – Black Radio (2012, Blue Note)

The man who did his best to convince people of his talent as a jazz pianist, now works his way up with his Robert Glasper Experiment. Featuring some of the who’s who artists of the R&B and hip hop scenes, it’s a bold record that sounds so 2012.

Sure, I’d also enjoy a rather depressing Garbarek record or the big band might of Count Basie but my real desire is to hear music which has that contemporary touch. Erykah Badu, who almost made me dance during her superb Istanbul concert (I’m one of those “gentlemen don’t dance” people), rocks it with her version of “Afro Blue.” Other dominant tracks are “Ah Yeah” and “Black Radio.” I should also note that I found “Smells Like Teen Spirit” out-of-place, not because the band failed to cover it properly but because the original song has exaggerated cultural meanings attached to it.

Still, this double LP deserves nothing but respect. I’d predict that the band will remain powerful throughout this decade and will probably leave their mark on the art form. It’s not a simple mashup effort that we’re talking about here. It’s clearly a step forward, something fresh. Think about owning the first pressing of this album in 25-30 years. It’ll still sound good in a retro way and it’ll be full of memories by that time.

– by Ilhan

Leave a comment